for the Best Young Researcher in Diabetes

This award is instituted with an aim to foster diabetes research in India and carries a cash prize of INR 100,000, gold medal, citation and a travel grant.

1. The award will be for a young researcher and for the original work unpublished at the time of submission.

2. The Award will carry a cash prize of Rs.100,000, gold medal, citation and travel grant.

3. He/she should be aged 40 years or less and can be from any speciality of medicine or a basic scientist or from any other branch of science or nutrition. The research should contribute to the science of diabetes care, treatment of complications or prevention.

4. Research should be original, entirely done in India and should enrich or contribute to original diabetes research in India.

5. Final decision will be taken by the Kesavadev JPEF Award Committee members after intense scrutiny of all applications.

More details of next year's research submission will be updated soon.

JPEF International Diabetes Convention Awards

Young Researcher Award for diabetes - 2019
Dr.Nanditha Arun (Dr.A.Ramachandran’s Hospital, Chennai) bagged the JPEF P.Kesavadev Young Researcher Award for diabetes worth Rs. 1 lakh. Her original research on ’mhealth in diabetes’ won her the award.
Best original research award - 2019
Dr.Parameswaran Ramakrishnan, M.Sc, Ph.D. (Cleveland Clinic, USA) won first prize for the best original research titled ‘Novel Molecular Target and Therapeutics for Autoimmune Diabetes’.
Best poster award - 2019
Dr.Sijo Jose (Sree Gokulam Medical College, Trivandrum) won the best poster award for his research titled ‘Prevalence and clinical profile of hyperglycemic hyperosmolar state in diabetic patients visiting emergency room in a tertiary care hospital’.
Young Researcher Award for Diabetes - 2018
Dr. Anjana Ranjit Mohan was awarded the JPEF P.Kesavadev Young Researcher Award for diabetes worth Rs. 1 lakh for her study entitled “Coexistence of Cardiometabolic Risk Factors Among Asian Indians – The Indian Council of Medical Research-India Diabetes Study (ICMR INDIAB study)”.
JPEF Stalwart Physician Award -2018
JPEF Stalwart Physician Award’ for the year 2018 was conferred to Dr. Arumugam Muruganathan (Governor of American College of Physicians-India Chapter) in recognition of his contributions to the science and society.
Young Researcher Award for Diabetes - 2017
Dr.Riddhi Das Gupta, Assistant Professor, Department of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism, Christian Medical College, received the JPEF P.Kesavadev Young Researcher Award for diabetes worth Rs. 1 lakh for his original research titled, 'Do insulin resistance, glucagon secretion and ectopic fat distribution contribute to metabolic dysregulation in patients with Fibrocalcific Pancreatic Diabetes (FCPD)? – an Euglycemic-Hyperinsulinemic Pancreatic Clamp based comprehensive metabolic study from South India.'