JPEF 2018 International Diabetes Convention Photos

6th JPEF Two-day Annual Global Diabetes Convention, 11th – 12th August 2018

The 6th JPEF Annual Global Diabetes Convention jointly organized by P. Kesavadev Trust, Jothydev’s Professional Education Forum (JPEF), and Diabetes India was held on 11th and 12th August 2018 at Hotel Uday Samudra, Kovalam, Trivandrum. The theme of the 6th JPEF Diabetes Convention was 'Diabetes: Fighting the Battle Together'. As in the previous five years, the scientific convention served as a platform for modern medicine doctors, students, dietitians and allied healthcare professionals to share and acquire expert knowledge regarding various advancements happening in the field of diabetes prevention and treatment as well as regarding the latest treatment guidelines.

This educational feast was attended upon by around 1250 delegates from across the country. More than 100 speakers covered over 300 topics in diabetes via lectures, workshops and orations simultaneously in 3 halls. Experts from different countries like the US, UK and Maldives, as well as from the Middle-East, also served as faculty. Dr.John Pickup (Professor, King’s College London; the inventor of the modern day insulin pump), Dr. Robert A Vigersky (Past-President - Endocrine Society & Past-Director - Diabetes Institute at the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center; a lead researcher involved in many major projects related to the continuous glucose monitoring systems), Prof. Sunder Mudaliar (Clinical Professor, University of California; investigator in landmark studies like NIH Diabetes Prevention Program Outcomes Study) and Dr. Richard Donnelly (Clinical Professor, University of Nottingham; lead investigator in many studies on therapeutics in metabolic and vascular diseases) were some of the international faculties who led the conference.

Hon. Governor Shri. Justice P.Sathasivam inaugurated the convention. Shri. Kadakampally Surendran, Minister for Co-Operation, Tourism and Devaswom, presided over. During the inaugural session, Dr.Arumugham Muruganathan (Governor-American College of Physicians India Chapter, & Chairman, A G Hospital, Tirupur) was presented the prestigious ‘JPEF Stalwart Physician Award 2018’ by the Hon. Governor, for his untiring contributions to science and to the society. The Governor also presented the 'P.Kesavadev JPEF Young Investigator Award 2018' to Dr. Anjana Ranjit Mohan (Managing Director, Dr. Mohan’s Diabetes Specialities Centre, Chennai) for her original research in diabetes epidemiology and translational research. This award is instituted with an aim to foster diabetes research in India and carries a cash prize of INR 100,000, gold medal, citation and a travel grant.

The convention also offered a platform for modern medicine doctors, dietitians, researchers and allied healthcare professionals to present their original scientific research conducted in the field of diabetes. The best four research papers, from among the numerous submissions received, were selected by an expert panel, and the winners were provided an opportunity to present their abstract during one of the scientific sessions and were awarded cash prizes. Dr. Aishwarya Kanneganti’s (Research Associate, Fernandez Hospital, Hyderabad) research entitled ’Glycemic response to moderate carbohydrate breakfasts in gestational diabetes mellitus’ was ranked first by the judging panel.

JPEF organising team included Dr.Jothydev Kesavadev, Dr.Arun Shankar, Ms. Gopika Krishnan and Mrs. Sunitha Jothydev.

JPEF Stalwart Physician Award

‘JPEF Stalwart Physician Award’ for the year 2018 was conferred to Dr.Arumugam Muruganathan (Governor of American College of Physicians-India Chapter) in recognition of his contributions to the science and society. The award was presented by the Hon. Governor of Kerala Shri Justice(Retd) P.Sathasivam during the JPEF 2018 Annual Global Diabetes Convention.

P. Kesavadev JPEF Young Researcher Award

For the Best Young Researcher in Diabetes, Dr. Anjana Ranjit Mohan was awarded the ‘P.Kesavadev JPEF Young Researcher Award 2018’ for her study entitled “Coexistence of Cardiometabolic Risk Factors Among Asian Indians – The Indian Council of Medical Research-India Diabetes Study (ICMR INDIAB study)”.

Original Scientific Research Abstracts Selected for Oral Presentation

6th JPEF Two-Day Annual Global Diabetes Convention offered a platform for Modern medicine doctors, Dietitians, Researchers and Allied healthcare professionals to present their original scientific research conducted in the field of diabetes. The best four original research papers, from among the numerous submissions received, were selected by an expert panel consisting of Dr. A.V.Raveendran (Specialist in Internal Medicine, Badr Al Samaa, Barka, Sultanate of Oman), Dr.Sumesh Raj (Professor Of Medicine, Sree Gokulam Medical College, Trivandrum) and Dr. Jothydev Kesavadev (Managing Trustee, P Kesavadev Trust).


Dr.John Pickup
Dr.Richard Donnelly
Dr.Robert Vigersky
Dr.Sunder Mudaliar
Dr. Santhosh K.G. Koshy
Dr.Bhargav Sosale
Dr.Raghavendra Bhat
Ms.Aishath Shiruhana.R
Ms.Aminath Abdul Rahman


Dr.Awadhesh Kumar Singh
Dr.Anjana Ranjit Mohan
Dr.Anoop Misra
Dr.Anil Bhoraskar
Dr.Anuj Maheshwari
Dr.Arvind Gupta
Dr.Ashok Kumar Das
Dr.Banshi Saboo
Dr.Brij Mohan Makkar
Dr.Deepak K.Jumani
Dr.Dharini Krishnan
Dr.Dhruvi Hasnani
Dr.Georgi Abraham
Dr.Hardik Chandarana
Dr.Hemant Thacker
Dr.Jayanta Panda
Dr.Kartikeya Joshi
Dr.Krishna Seshadri
Dr.Manoj S. Chawla
Dr.Mithun Bhartia
Dr.Mukherjee J.J
Dr.Neeta Deshpande
Dr.Pratap Jethwani
Dr.Purvi Chawla
Dr.Rao P.V
Dr.Rajeev Chawla
Dr.Rajiv Kovil
Dr.Ritu Johari
Ms.Ruby Sound
Dr.Sanjay Kalra
Dr.Shaukat M. Sadikot
Dr.Shalini Jaggi
Dr.Shilpa Joshi
Dr.Thejas Shah
Dr.Unnikrishnan A. G
Dr.Usha Sriram
Dr.Vinod Mittal


Dr.Abhilash Nair S

Dr.Ajayakumar S

Dr.Ajith Kumar P. V

Dr.Ajith Kumar S

Dr.Amrithlal P

Dr.Anand Pillai

Dr. Anil Vijayakumar

Ms. Annie Ajay

Dr.Anitha Nambiar S

Dr.Anupama Ramachandran

Dr. Arun Shankar

Dr. Ashwin David Ashok

Dr. Balachandran K

Dr. Balagopal P G

Dr.Balakrishnan Valliyot

Dr. Benny P V

Dr.Chandini R

Dr. Devin Prabhakar

Dr. Elizabath Jacob

Dr. Geetha M Nair

Ms.Geethu Sanal

Ms. Gopika Krishnan

Dr.Hareesh Kumar G

Dr.Harish Kumar

Dr. Harikrishnan R

Dr. Jabbar P K

Dr. Jayakrishnan B

Dr. Jayakumar C

Dr. Jayakumari C

Dr. Jayalakshmi Kurup

Dr.Jothydev Kesavadev

Dr.Lakshmy Ramachandran

Dr.Manikandan G.R

Dr. Madhu N

Dr. Madhusudanan S

Dr. Mathew John

Dr. Mohanan Nair

Dr. Mohan T Shenoy

Dr. Mohan Varghese

Dr. Prashanth Sankar

Dr. Rajalakshmi Arjun

Dr. Rajalakshmi S

Dr.Rajmohan L

Dr.Roy R. Chandran

Dr. Radhakrishnan A P

Dr. Ramesan Pillai

Dr. Rohit Warrier

Dr. Sabeer A Rasheed

Dr. Sandeep R

Dr. Seenaj Chandran

Dr.Sarath Menon R

Dr. Shiji P V

Dr. Sreejith N Kumar

Dr. Sreekumar R C

Dr.Sreenivasa Kammath

Dr. Sunil Prashob

Ms. Sunitha Jothydev

Dr. Sumesh Raj

Dr. Syam Sunder O S

Dr. Thankam D

Dr. Tittu Oommen

Dr. Thomas Paul

Dr. Thomas Titus

Dr. Thushanth Thomas

Dr. Vijayakumar G

Dr. Vishad Viswanath

JPEF Organising Committee

Jothydev Kesavadev

Gopika Krishnan

Prasad H

Sunitha Jothydev

Arun Shankar

Ashwin David

Rohit Warrier

Lakshmy Ramachandran

Local Organising Committee

Dr.Benny P. V

Dr.Roy R Chandran

Dr.Sumesh Raj

Dr.Sunil Prasobh

Dr.Jayakrishnan B

Dr.Sabeer A Rasheed

Dr.Radhakrishnan A. P

Dr.Ajithkumar S

National Scientific Committee

Dr.Ashok Kumar Das

Dr.Georgi Abraham

Dr.Banshi Saboo

Dr.Anuj Maheshwari

Dr.Anjana Ranjit Mohan

Dr.Rajiv Kovil

Local Scientific Committee

Dr.Anitha Nambiar S

Dr.Chandni R

Dr.Mathew John

Dr.Anand Pillai

Dr.Raveendran A V