Inviting applications for


for the Best Young Researcher in Diabetes

CASH PRIZE of INR 1,00,000 (US $1500)

We invite applications for the P.Kesavadev JPEF Award 2019 for the Best Young Researcher in the field of Diabetes, from India.

1. The award will be for a young researcher and the original work should be unpublished at the time of submission.

2. The Award will carry a cash prize of Rs.100,000, gold medal, citation and travel grant.

3. He/she should be aged 40 years or less and can be from any speciality of medicine or a basic scientist or from any other branch of science or nutrition. The research should contribute to the science of diabetes care, treatment of complications or prevention.

4. Research should be original, entirely done in India and should enrich or contribute to original diabetes research in India.

5. Applicants should send their complete biodata and details of their research work to the following email:

6. Last date of submission will be Wednesday, July 31, 2019

7. Final decision will be taken by the Kesavadev JPEF Award Committee members after intense scrutiny of all applications.

8. The JPEF Award Committee: Chairperson - Dr.Georgi Abraham.
Members - Dr.Ashok Kumar Das, Dr.Jothydev Kesavadev


For the Best Young Researcher in Diabetes, Dr. Anjana Ranjit Mohan (Managing Director & Diabetologist, Dr.Mohan’s Diabetes Specialities Centre, and Vice President, Madras Diabetes Research Foundation, Chennai), was awarded the ‘P.Kesavadev JPEF Young Investigator Award 2018’ for her study entitled “Coexistence of Cardiometabolic Risk Factors Among Asian Indians – The Indian Council of Medical Research-India Diabetes Study (ICMR INDIAB study)”.

This award is instituted with an aim to foster diabetes research in India and carries a cash prize of INR 100,000, gold medal, citation and a travel grant. Hon. Governor of Kerala Shri. Justice (Retd) P.Sathasivam handed over the award to Dr. Anjana Ranjit Mohan during the inaugural ceremony of 6th JPEF Two-Day Annual Global Diabetes Convention. From the numerous submissions received, the expert panel consisting of Dr. Ashok Kumar Das (Professor and Head of Endocrinology, Pondicherry Institute of Medical Sciences), Dr. Georgi Abraham (Professor of Medicine, Pondicherry Institute of Medical Sciences) and Dr. Jothydev Kesavadev (Managing Trustee, P.Kesavadev Trust), unanimously selected the best original research.


P.Kesavadev JPEF Award for the Young Researcher in Diabetes, was presented to Dr.Riddhi Das Gupta, Assistant Professor, Department of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism, Christian Medical College, Vellore for his original research titled, 'Do insulin resistance, glucagon secretion and ectopic fat distribution contribute to metabolic dysregulation in patients with Fibrocalcific Pancreatic Diabetes (FCPD)? – an Euglycemic-Hyperinsulinemic Pancreatic Clamp based comprehensive metabolic study from South India.' He was selected from among many proposals, received by the Independent Award committee by (Chairman) Dr.Georgie Abraham (Chennai) and (Vice Chairman) Dr.Ashok Kumar Das (Puducherry).

The Award consisted of a cash prize of INR 100,000, gold medal, citation and travel grant. The award was presented during the inauguration ceremony of JPEF Annual Global Diabetes Convention 2017 on 12th August. The event took place on Aug 12, 2017 at Hotel Uday Samudra, Trivandrum, Kerala.